SCK•CEN Highlights 2016 |
15759
home,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-15759,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

Highlights

2016

VW_Eric_700px

Foreword

Our research beats to the rhythm of our Society

The years go by and times change: 2015 was filled with all sorts of challenges, while 2016 proved to be even more tumultuous, with a series of unplanned actions on top of our planned projects. However, it has not prevented us from completing all of our ambitious projects, as you will see in this annual report.

 

Our new strategic plan reshaped the future of our research centre. More than ever, we wanted to focus our efforts on the key areas in which, thanks to our scientists, our expertise and our unique infrastructures, we are able to create real added value for our society. Nuclear medicine and nuclear applications are the cornerstones of our strategic plan and gave rhythm to the activities of SCK•CEN. In the future, they will more than ever be at the core of our research.

Eric van Walle,
Director-General of SCK•CEN
VW_Eric_539x2px

Foreword

Our research beats to the rhythm of our Society

The years go by and times change: 2015 was filled with all sorts of challenges, while 2016 proved to be even more tumultuous, with a series of unplanned actions on top of our planned projects. However, it has not prevented us from completing all of our ambitious projects, as you will see in this annual report.

Our new strategic plan reshaped the future of our research centre. More than ever, we wanted to focus our efforts on the key areas in which, thanks to our scientists, our expertise and our unique infrastructures, we are able to create real added value for our society. Nuclear medicine and nuclear applications are the cornerstones of our strategic plan and gave rhythm to the activities of SCK•CEN. In the future, they will more than ever be at the core of our research.

Eric van Walle,
Director-General.
Aanhalingstekens_Openen
More than ever, we wanted to focus our efforts on the key areas in which, thanks to our scientists, our expertise and our unique infrastructures, we are able to create real added value for our society.
Aanhalingstekens_Sluiten

The future is now

2016 was a particularly rich year in terms of large projects for our general guidelines as well as for our installations. But first and foremost, it was a rich year for our pool of young talents.

New Strategy

« We cannot predict the future. But we can be prepared for it. Our strategic plan is not a break with the past, but it does mark a shift in focus. It forms a balanced vision that supports future decisions about medical applications, maintaining and developing state-of-the-art installations and training a new generation of experts. »

Frank Hardeman,
Deputy Director-General.
L'Avenir_Frank_1070x639
L'Avenir_Christian_1070x639

Our role in society

« More than ever, we have to fulfil our role as a scientific research centre. This means research, acting as an expertise centre, substantiating facts, providing figures, articulating complex science in a comprehensible manner. In short, keeping an objective point of view and fulfilling our role as a scientific expert, responsible for unbiased and justified information. »

Christian Legrain,
Secretary-General of SCK•CEN

Safety and Security

Security at SCK•CEN has been tightened significantly in 2016. You can’t avoid the presence of armed soldiers on the site, the controls have been tightened at the main entrance and the respective entrances to the secured zones, and the Boeretang has been closed off to through-traffic. Let us not forget the intensive work carried out for improved cyber security.

L'Avenir_Sécurité_1070x639

BR2, the 4e generation

The scientific and medical worlds are breathing a sigh of relief. After a thorough service lasting 16 months, the Belgian Reactor 2 (BR2) was successfully restarted in July 2016. It was restarted as planned and celebrated by the scientific and medical community at an academic session attended by Her Royal Highness Princess Astrid. The research reactor is ready for at least another decade, with ambitious perspectives in sight.

New strategy

L'Avenir_Frank_1070x639

« We cannot predict the future. But we can be prepared for it. Our strategic plan is not a break with the past, but it does mark a shift in focus. It forms a balanced vision that supports future decisions about medical applications, maintaining and developing state-of-the-art installations and training a new generation of experts. »

Frank Hardeman,
Deputy Director-General of SCK•CEN.

Our role in society

L'Avenir_Christian_1070x639

« More than ever, we have to fulfil our role as a scientific research centre. This means research, acting as an expertise centre, substantiating facts, providing figures, articulating complex science in a comprehensible manner. In short, keeping an objective point of view and fulfilling our role as a scientific expert, responsible for unbiased and justified information. »

Christian Legrain,
Secretary-General of SCK•CEN

Safety and Security

L'Avenir_Sécurité_1070x639

Security at SCK•CEN has been tightened significantly in 2016. You can’t avoid the presence of armed soldiers on the site, the controls have been tightened at the main entrance and the respective entrances to the secured zones, and the Boeretang has been closed off to through-traffic. Let us not forget the intensive work carried out for improved cyber security.

BR2, the 4th generation

The scientific and medical worlds are breathing a sigh of relief. After a thorough service lasting 16 months, the Belgian Reactor 2 (BR2) was successfully restarted in July 2016. It was restarted as planned and celebrated by the scientific and medical community at an academic session attended by Her Royal Highness Princess Astrid. The research reactor is ready for at least another decade, with ambitious perspectives in sight.

Aanhalingstekens_Openen
The research reactor BR2 is ready for at least another decade, with ambitious perspectives in sight.
Aanhalingstekens_Sluiten

Research & Innovation

Medicine, fusion, radiation protection, control of the food chain, research on materials or humanitarian project: from our underground laboratory to Space, not to mention the United Nations and Congo, nothing can stop the work of our researchers in their quest to conquer new scientific territories.

A boost for MYRRHA

« 150 engineers, scientists, technicians and administrative assistants from 27 different countries are working on MYRRHA, the Multi-purpose Hybrid Research Reactor for High-tech Applications. An ambitious project and a world first which will be built in three phases over 11 years, from 2019 to 2030. During the construction of the project, almost 1000 people will be involved over a three-year period; during operation, between 300 and 400 people will be permanently employed for MYRRHA. The world awaits new technological solutions, namely in the management of radioactive waste and the production of medical radioisotopes. Thanks to MYRRHA, we will be able to offer a global response. »

Hamid Aït Abderrahim,
Deputy Director-General.
  • Development in phases
  • Conclusive tests in components behaviour
  • Unique Corrosion Cycle
  • Structural materials for Gen-IV reactors

A boost for MYRRHA

« 150 engineers, scientists, technicians and administrative assistants from 27 different countries are working on MYRRHA, the Multi-purpose Hybrid Research Reactor for High-tech Applications. An ambitious project and a world first which will be built in three phases over 11 years, from 2019 to 2030. During the construction of the project, almost 1000 people will be involved over a three-year period; during operation, between 300 and 400 people will be permanently employed for MYRRHA. The world awaits new technological solutions, namely in the management of radioactive waste and the production of medical radioisotopes. Thanks to MYRRHA, we will be able to offer a global response. »

Hamid Aït Abderrahim,
Deputy Director-General of SCK•CEN

  • Development in phases
  • Conclusive tests in components behaviour
  • Unique Corrosion Cycle
  • Structural materials for Gen-IV reactors
Technologie_694x954

Technology geared towards innovation

Did you know that old sources of thorium could prove to be rare and precious assets in the development of new cancer treatments? And that the BR2 was going to experience its first high-flux irradiation campaign at 1200° to provide new research opportunities in fusion materials? At 225 metres underground, how do we predict the way Boom clay will react to heating? On the surface, can we solve the mystery of oxidation reaction? Our experts take up all these technological challenges on a daily basis thanks to our state of the art research installations.

  • Fusion: first irradiation campaign of its kind for BR2
  • Diving 225 metres deep in Boom Clay
  • U3O7 : the missing piece of the puzzle
  • New opportunities in cancer treatment
Technologie_694x355

Technology geared towards innovation

Did you know that old sources of thorium could prove to be rare and precious assets in the development of new cancer treatments? And that the BR2 was going to experience its first high-flux irradiation campaign at 1200° to provide new research opportunities in fusion materials? At 225 metres underground, how do we predict the way Boom clay will react to heating? On the surface, can we solve the mystery of oxidation reaction? Our experts take up all these technological challenges on a daily basis thanks to our state of the art research installations.

  • Fusion: first irradiation campaign of its kind for BR2
  • Diving 225 metres deep in Boom Clay
  • U3O7 : the missing piece of the puzzle
  • New opportunities in cancer treatment

soc

Contributing to great social challenges

At international level, our research centre distinguished itself once again in 2016, through the numerous accolades for its young researchers and the top-level positions entrusted to its experts, in particular within the prestigious UN scientific committee UNSCEAR. We want to use our expertise to serve Society by linking fundamental research and practical applications, sometimes in a very creative way. How can the long-duration space travel applications developed in the Campine be landing in Africa? You will be ‘Inspired’ to read it !

  • Hans Vanmarcke at the helm of UNSCEAR
  • Towards better diagnostic and therapeutic treatments
  • Key role in monitoring radioactivity in drinking water
  • You do science with and for people
  • Inspiration fuels space research in Congo

Contributing to great social challenges

At international level, our research centre distinguished itself once again in 2016, through the numerous accolades for its young researchers and the top-level positions entrusted to its experts, in particular within the prestigious UN scientific committee UNSCEAR. We want to use our expertise to serve Society by linking fundamental research and practical applications, sometimes in a very creative way. How can the long-duration space travel applications developed in the Campine be landing in Africa? You will be ‘Inspired’ to read it !

  • Hans Vanmarcke at the helm of UNSCEAR
  • Towards better diagnostic and therapeutic treatments
  • Key role in monitoring radioactivity in drinking water
  • You do science with and for people
  • Inspiration fuels space research in Congo

Key Figures

Income
  • Turnover

  • Government grants

  • Other

  • Financial income

  • Extraordinary income

Charges
  • Personnel costs

  • Purchases

  • Provisions

  • Deprecation

768

Employees

73

PhD students

41

Nationalities

994

Scientific publications & presentations

SCK•CEN Highlights 2016 |
14869
home,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-14869,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

L'essentiel

2016

VW_Eric_700px

édito

Notre recherche bat au rythme de notre Société

Les années se suivent et ne se ressemblent pas : 2015 fut riche en défis de toute sortes ; 2016 s’avéra davantage tumultueuse, ajoutant aux projets planifiés une série d’actions imprévues. Cela ne nous a cependant pas empêchés de réaliser l’ensemble de nos ambitieux projets et de fourmiller d’idées pour lancer de nouveaux programmes de recherche innovants.

 

Notre nouveau plan stratégique redéfinit les contours de l’avenir de notre centre de recherche. Plus que jamais, nous voulons concentrer nos efforts dans les domaines-clés où nous pouvons apporter – grâce à nos scientifiques, notre expertise et nos infrastructures uniques – une réelle valeur ajoutée à notre Société. Gravées au centre de notre mission, la médecine nucléaire et les applications médicales ont rythmé les activités du SCK•CEN en 2016. A l’avenir, elles continueront, plus que jamais, à faire vibrer le cœur de nos recherches.

Eric van Walle,
Directeur général du SCK•CEN
VW_Eric_539x2px

édito

Notre recherche bat au rythme de notre Société

Les années se suivent et ne se ressemblent pas : 2015 fut riche en défis de toute sortes ; 2016 s’avéra davantage tumultueuse, ajoutant aux projets planifiés une série d’actions imprévues. Cela ne nous a cependant pas empêchés de réaliser l’ensemble de nos ambitieux projets et de fourmiller d’idées pour lancer de nouveaux programmes de recherche innovants.

 

Notre nouveau plan stratégique redéfinit les contours de l’avenir de notre centre de recherche. Plus que jamais, nous voulons concentrer nos efforts dans les domaines-clés où nous pouvons apporter – grâce à nos scientifiques, notre expertise et nos infrastructures uniques – une réelle valeur ajoutée à notre Société. Gravées au centre de notre mission, la médecine nucléaire et les applications médicales ont rythmé les activités du SCK•CEN en 2016. A l’avenir, elles continueront, plus que jamais, à faire vibrer le cœur de nos recherches.

Eric van Walle,
Directeur général.
Aanhalingstekens_Openen
Plus que jamais, nous voulons concentrer nos efforts dans les domaines-clés où nous pouvons apporter – grâce à nos scientifiques, notre expertise et nos infrastructures uniques – une réelle valeur ajoutée à notre Société.
Aanhalingstekens_Sluiten

L’avenir se prépare maintenant

2016, une année particulièrement riche en projets d’envergure, tant au niveau de nos lignes directrices que de nos infrastructures, mais aussi et surtout de notre vivier de jeunes talents.

Nouvelle stratégie

« Nous ne pouvons prédire l’avenir, mais nous pouvons nous y préparer. La nouvelle stratégie du SCK•CEN ne rompt pas avec le passé, mais met l’accent sur nos priorités : les applications médicales, le maintien et le développement d’infrastructures de pointe et la formation d’une nouvelle génération d’experts. »

Frank Hardeman,
Directeur général adjoint.
L'Avenir_Frank_1070x639
L'Avenir_Christian_1070x639

Notre rôle sociétal

« Plus que jamais, nous nous devons de mener à bien notre mission de centre de recherche scientifique. Autrement dit, faire de la recherche, agir en tant que centre d’expertise, se baser sur des faits, fournir des chiffres, vulgariser une science complexe pour la rendre compréhensible de tous. Bref, garder ce regard objectif et assurer notre rôle d’expert scientifique, garant d’une information objective et fondée. »

Christian Legrain,
Secrétaire général du SCK•CEN

Sûreté et sécurité

La sécurité du SCK•CEN a été considérablement renforcée en 2016. Présence de militaires armés sur le site, durcissement des contrôles à l’entrée principale et aux entrées des zones sécurisées, fermeture d’une voie d’accès à la circulation. Sans oublier la cyber-sécurité, qui a également fait l’objet d’un travail en profondeur.

L'Avenir_Sécurité_1070x639

BR2, la 4e ère

Les mondes scientifique et médical respirent. Après une profonde opération de rénovation de 16 mois, le Belgian Reactor 2 (BR2) a redémarré avec succès en juillet 2016. Un redémarrage en temps et heure qui a été célébré par la Communauté scientifique et médicale lors d’une séance académique en présence de Son Altesse Royale la Princesse Astrid. Le réacteur de recherche est désormais fin prêt pour une nouvelle décennie au moins, avec d’ambitieuses perspectives en ligne de mire.

Nouvelle stratégie

L'Avenir_Frank_1070x639

« Nous ne pouvons prédire l’avenir, mais nous pouvons nous y préparer. La nouvelle stratégie du SCK•CEN ne rompt pas avec le passé, mais met l’accent sur nos priorités : les applications médicales, le maintien et le développement d’infrastructures de pointe et la formation d’une nouvelle génération d’experts. »

Frank Hardeman,
Directeur général adjoint du SCK•CEN.

Notre rôle sociétal

L'Avenir_Christian_1070x639

« Plus que jamais, nous nous devons de mener à bien notre mission de centre de recherche scientifique. Autrement dit, faire de la recherche, agir en tant que centre d’expertise, se baser sur des faits, fournir des chiffres, vulgariser une science complexe pour la rendre compréhensible de tous. Bref, garder ce regard objectif et assurer notre rôle d’expert scientifique, garant d’une information objective et fondée. »

Christian Legrain,
Secrétaire général du SCK•CEN

Sûreté et sécurité

L'Avenir_Sécurité_1070x639

La sécurité du SCK•CEN a été considérablement renforcée en 2016. Présence de militaires armés sur le site, durcissement des contrôles à l’entrée principale et aux entrées des zones sécurisées, fermeture d’une voie d’accès à la circulation. Sans oublier la cyber-sécurité, qui a également fait l’objet d’un travail en profondeur.

BR2, la 4e ère

Les mondes scientifique et médical respirent. Après une profonde opération de rénovation de 16 mois, le Belgian Reactor 2 (BR2) a redémarré avec succès en juillet 2016. Un redémarrage en temps et heure qui a été célébré par la Communauté scientifique et médicale lors d’une séance académique en présence de Son Altesse Royale la Princesse Astrid. Le réacteur de recherche est désormais fin prêt pour une nouvelle décennie au moins, avec d’ambitieuses perspectives en ligne de mire.

Aanhalingstekens_Openen
Le réacteur de recherche BR2 est désormais fin prêt pour une nouvelle décennie au moins, avec d’ambitieuses perspectives en ligne de mire.
Aanhalingstekens_Sluiten

Recherche & Innovation

Médecine, fusion, radioprotection, contrôle de la chaîne alimentaire, recherche sur les matériaux ou projet humanitaire : de notre laboratoire souterrain à l’Espace en passant par les Nations Unies et le Congo, le travail de nos chercheurs ne recule devant rien pour conquérir de nouveaux territoires scientifiques.

Coup d’accélérateur pour MYRRHA

« 150 ingénieurs, scientifiques, techniciens et assistants administratifs de 27 pays différents travaillent sur l’ installation de recherche polyvalente MYRRHA. Un projet ambitieux et unique au monde qui sera construit en trois phases sur une période de 11 ans, de 2019 à 2030. Pour la construction, presque 1000 personnes seront concernées sur une période de trois ans, et, pendant l’exploitation, entre 300 et 400 personnes travailleront en permanence pour MYRRHA. La société attend de nouvelles solutions technologiques, notamment pour la gestion des déchets radioactifs et la production de radio-isotopes médicaux. Grâce à MYRRHA, nous pourrons apporter une réponse globale. »

Hamid Aït Abderrahim,
directeur général adjoint.
  • Développement en phases
  • Tests concluants sur le comportement des composants
  • Une boucle de corrosion unique en son genre
  • Matériaux de structure pour les réacteurs de 4e génération

Coup d’accélérateur pour MYRRHA

« 150 ingénieurs, scientifiques, techniciens et assistants administratifs de 27 pays différents travaillent sur l’ installation de recherche polyvalente MYRRHA. Un projet ambitieux et unique au monde qui sera construit en trois phases sur une période de 11 ans, de 2019 à 2030. Pour la construction, presque 1000 personnes seront concernées sur une période de trois ans, et, pendant l’exploitation, entre 300 et 400 personnes travailleront en permanence pour MYRRHA. La société attend de nouvelles solutions technologiques, notamment pour la gestion des déchets radioactifs et la production de radio-isotopes médicaux. Grâce à MYRRHA, nous pourrons apporter une réponse globale. »

Hamid Aït Abderrahim,
directeur général adjoint du SCK•CEN

  • Développement en phases
  • Tests concluants sur le comportement des composants
  • Une boucle de corrosion unique en son genre
  • Matériaux de structure pour les réacteurs de 4e génération
Technologie_694x954

La technologie au service de l’innovation

Saviez-vous que d’anciennes sources de thorium pouvaient se révéler de rares et précieux atouts dans la mise au point de nouveaux traitements contre le cancer ? Et que le BR2 se préparait à vivre sa première campagne d’irradiation à flux élevé de 1200°C pour faire avancer la recherche sur les matériaux de fusion ? A 225 mètres sous terre, comment prédire le comportement de l’argile de Boom au contact de la chaleur ? Et sur terre, peut-on parvenir à résoudre le mystère du processus d’oxydation ? Autant de défis technologiques que relèvent chaque jour nos experts grâce à nos installations de recherche performantes.

  • Fusion : une campagne d’irradiation inédite dans le BR2
  • Plongée à 225 mètres sous terre dans l’argile de Boom
  • U3O7 : la pièce manquante du puzzle
  • Nouvelles perspectives dans le traitement contre le cancer
Technologie_694x355

La technologie au service de l’innovation

Saviez-vous que d’anciennes sources de thorium pouvaient se révéler de rares et précieux atouts dans la mise au point de nouveaux traitements contre le cancer ? Et que le BR2 se préparait à vivre sa première campagne d’irradiation à flux élevé de 1200°C pour faire avancer la recherche sur les matériaux de fusion ? A 225 mètres sous terre, comment prédire le comportement de l’argile de Boom au contact de la chaleur ? Et sur terre, peut-on parvenir à résoudre le mystère du processus d’oxydation ? Autant de défis technologiques que relèvent chaque jour nos experts grâce à nos installations de recherche performantes.

  • Fusion : une campagne d’irradiation inédite dans le BR2
  • Plongée à 225 mètres sous terre dans l’argile de Boom
  • U3O7 : la pièce manquante du puzzle
  • Nouvelles perspectives dans le traitement contre le cancer

soc

Contribuer aux grands défis sociétaux

Au niveau international, notre centre de recherche s’est à nouveau distingué en 2016 au travers des nombreuses distinctions décrochées par ses jeunes chercheurs et des fonctions de premier plan confiées à ses experts, notamment dans le prestigieux conseil scientifique des Nations Unies UNSCEAR. Notre expertise, nous voulons avant tout la mettre au service de la Société en faisant le lien entre recherche fondamentale et applications concrètes, parfois de manière très créative. Comment des applications pour les missions spatiales de longue durée développées dans les Campines peuvent-elle bien atterrir en Afrique ? You will be ‘Inspired’ to read it !

  • Hans Vanmarcke à la tête du comité UNSCEAR des Nations Unies
  • Vers de meilleurs traitements diagnostiques et thérapeutiques
  • Rôle majeur dans la surveillance radiologique de l’eau potable
  • Faire de la Science pour et avec les gens
  • Propulser les recherches spatiales au Congo

Contribuer aux grands défis sociétaux

Au niveau international, notre centre de recherche s’est à nouveau distingué en 2016 au travers des nombreuses distinctions décrochées par ses jeunes chercheurs et des fonctions de premier plan confiées à ses experts, notamment dans le prestigieux conseil scientifique des Nations Unies UNSCEAR. Notre expertise, nous voulons avant tout la mettre au service de la Société en faisant le lien entre recherche fondamentale et applications concrètes, parfois de manière très créative. Comment des applications pour les missions spatiales de longue durée développées dans les Campines peuvent-elle bien atterrir en Afrique ? You will be ‘Inspired’ to read it !

  • Hans Vanmarcke à la tête du comité UNSCEAR des Nations Unies
  • Vers de meilleurs traitements diagnostiques et thérapeutiques
  • Rôle majeur dans la surveillance radiologique de l’eau potable
  • Faire de la Science pour et avec les gens
  • Propulser les recherches spatiales au Congo

SCK•CEN en chiffres

Produits
  • Chiffre daffaires

  • Dotation federale

  • Autres

  • Produits financiers

  • Produtis exceptionnels

Charges
  • Frais de personnel

  • Achats et services

  • Provisions

  • Amortissements

768

Travailleurs

73

Doctorants

41

Nationalités

994

Publications scientifiques & presentations